It ain’t where you’re from, it’s where you’re at

I’ve heard this saying over and over throughout my life. Another one is “you can take the dog out of the junkyard, but you can’t take the junkyard out of the dog”. Through the last 10 years there’s been an ongoing conflict within me with these two phrases. One side of me still likes to keep a sense of Southern pride where I cling to anything I knew growin up in Pensacola… manly being Southern and Cajun food and sports teams. Then, there’s this other side that realizes that I’ve lived in Lincoln (10 years) almost as long as I lived in Pensacola (14). In this I do notice in alot of ways I’ve adapted. I catch myself with the double-r syndrome when I talk. Then there’s the Huskers memorabilia that vastly outnumbers the Gators memorabilia.

Anyway, as I’m sure you’ve noticed, I’m reppin’ Lincoln with this page now. Infact, I think I might keep this for a while. I had a couple inspirations. One being the old page for Common’s Like Water for Chocolate album. Check out okayplayer.com for that. Second was the coming of fall and along with it football season. This is the time of year where Nebraska is on a high from a pride standpoint. Nebraska lives for Husker football… it’s second only to God. I even concider Memorial Stadium to be the “mecca” of college football. It’s an arogance we have here, much like fans of Notre Dame, Texas, and Ohio State have.

So, welcome to my world… welcome to Nebraska. As I say, “The home of cows and corn”. Beyond that, it’s the home of Malcolm X, numerous NFL players, Kool-Aid, Crunch-N-Munch, soul food, and, yes, five national championships.

One love,

Skoo

~ by Steve L. on August 6, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
