Spaceship


I have to start this one off with a verse by Kanye West (the man above if you don’t know)…

I’ve been workin’ this graveshift and I ain’t made shit
I wish I could buy me a spaceship and fly past the sky

Man, man, man
If my manager insults me again I will be assaulting him
After I fuck the manager up then I’m gonna shorten the register up
Let’s go back, back to the Gap
Look at my check, wasn’t no scratch
So if I stole, wasn’t my fault
Yeah I stole, never got caught
They take me to the back and pat me
Askin’ me about some khakis
But let some black people walk in
I bet they show off their token blackie
Oh now they love Kanye, let’s put him all in the front of the store
Saw him on break next to the ‘No Smoking’ sign with a blunt and a Marl’
Takin’ my hits, writin’ my hits
Writin’ my rhymes, playin’ my mind
This fuckin’ job can’t help him
So I quit, y’all welcome
Y’all don’t know my struggle
Y’all can’t match my hustle
You can’t catch my hustle
You can’t fathom my love dude
Lock yourself in a room doin’ five beats a day for three summers
That’s a +Different World+ like +Cree Summers+
I deserve to do these numbers
The kid that made that deserves that Maebach
So many records in my basement
I’m just waitin’ on my spaceship, blaow

I’ve been workin’ this graveshift and I ain’t made shit
I wish I could buy me a spaceship and fly past the sky

It seems I’m always playing this song right after I get off work… hmmmm. It’s like, you work a bullshit job, because like a man on Comic View once said, “a check is a check is a got damn check”. So, you work this job, tolerate the shit and continue goin from check to check. The only thing that keeps you going with this hell hole is the knowing that you’re in trianing to do what you really want to do, in my case web design, and that your ticket out will come in due time. But, it’s still a grind. The back aches, head aches, and cold glares to your superiors that result from those pains are all a part of the daily process of commerce at work. I say this because really, nobody workin retail is happy, unless you’re the store manager. That’s the only person involved that benifits from anything in a retail situation. The schedule makers have limitations on hours because there’s money to be saved if possible. So, you cut back work, which stresses out the floor managers, who stress out the department people, who inturn give poorer service because well, they’re pissed they’re not able to get their real work done. Meanwhile the big man in charge is getting the bonuses from the money saved.

But, like Ceelo Green once said, “I’d rather struggle on my feet than to live on my knees”. Gotta keep on grindin’.

Peace,
Skoo

~ by Steve L. on October 15, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
