Trillian 3



Last night I discovered that an alpha version of Trillian 3 had been released. For those of you naive to what Trillian is, it’s an all-in-one instant messaging client that combines Yahoo, MSN, AOL, ICQ, and IRC and lets you have multiple account running for each client. It also has plug-ins available for Jabber, Novell Group Wise, and Lotus Sametime (the last two being mainly business chat clients). So, naturally, I decided to try out the new version. I have to say, so far, I’m really pleased with it.

They’ve added some features, obviously. There’s two I’ve really taken liking to. First, they’ve added support for chat rooms on MSN and Yahoo!. Also, they’ve added support for voice chat. I’ve found the voice chat to be a little shaky in chat rooms, but then again, it’s an alpha (or extremely early release). I’ve yet to try voice in pm.

Another thing I really like, as you can see in that screenshot, is the interface. It’s an extremely friendly interface to use and look at. They now allow for me to select one buddy icon for all my clients instead of making me indivisualy setting my icon for each account. The other thing I really like it that I can see my friends’ icons in my buddy list next to their names, much like Apple’s IChat client, along with their status below their names.

Overall, I’m really happy with it so far. If you want a closer view of the screenshot above, just click on it and a new window should open up for it.

Also, if you’d like me to send you the instalation file for the Trillian 3 alpha, let me know. Just know that you’ll be stuck with the basic version, unless you find a crack somewhere, because I’m not releasing my registration information. I’m not crazy.

Anyways, that’s all from me.

Peace,

Skoo

~ by Steve L. on November 12, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
