Finally, I’m branded

One of the things that has bothered me about my blog it that I’ve been working with templates and I had really nothing to distinguish my blog from any other.

Well, I’m still using a template… it’s Douglas Bowman’s Minima (white, duh!) template. But, I did make a few edits to get it to my specifications.

The other thing I did is I finally created a logo. Branding is something I’ve been learning a lot about in my classes as of late. Branding in short is logos and logotype. Finally, I had an idea of my own logo idea and it just all fell together for me about an hour ago and wahlah… I have what’s at the top of this page. I was wanting something that I could change-up for different seasons and events, much like Google or tequila mockingbird, and I can do that with what I’ve created here. And yes, I already have ideas. For example baseball season is coming soon… Love: Braves “A” logo, Life: a baseball, and Happiness: that World Series trophy from ’95. See what I’m getting at? I can have fun with it… and believe me, I will.

I’ve also made a couple more changes on here.

First, I’ve gone with a service called Haloscan for my commenting system. There was nothing wrong with what Blogger was offering, this is just a little more personalizable.

Second, I’ve gone with another service called BlogLinker that allows fellow bloggers to add their links (duh!). Basically, it’s a way to boost traffic so that I don’t have only about 5 people reading this thing religiously. That way, I don’t feel like I’m doing this more than for my own self gratification even though that’s really what blogs are about.

Lastly, I brought back the tag board from my old page and cleaned it off, so, you folks have a fresh litter box to play in.

Overall, I’d have to say I’m fairly happy with things right now. As always, leave your comments and enjoy.

~ by Steve L. on February 17, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
