I wish I wasn’t such a brand whore!

I happened to be watching ESPN’s First Take program this morning which featured guest Ben Wallace of the Chicago Bulls. Ben’s main purpose for being on the show this morning was to promote his new show, which is under the Starbury label.

For those not in the know, Starbury was a brand started by New York Knicks point guard Stephon Marbury in an effort to bring lower costs shoes and apparel to everybody in a world where shoes often run over $100. All of Steph’s shoes run at the very nice price of about $15. That’s lower than some of the Payless stuff you see these days. Further, the shoes are not that bad of quality (I own a pair myself), but to be honest my Nike cross-trainers are a tad more comfortable and there’s some things about the construction that impressed me.

This whole thing got me to thinking. I really look at labels in terms of quality. If I see an Apple logo, I think quality. If I see Microsoft, I run scared (especially after my Xbox 360 croaked on me last week). When I see Nike, I think quality. When I see Nike + iPod, I actually start thinking about getting my butt in shape. I’ve had thoughts of all the stuff I could get with all this Nike + iPod stuff. But, would I actually get in shape after words? It’s a crap shoot, really.

I just wonder how much of the brand loyalty is really just perception and how much of it is reality in our minds. I think a lot of times, just that overall success rate we have with a product can let us move past times when things have failed on us. Other times, however, I look at that Jordan logo above and drool, despite having two pairs of Jordans look like swiss cheese by the time I was done with them. Yet, my Starburys are still tickin’. Then again, I’ve had my Nikes longer and they’re still going too. Who knows?

~ by Steve L. on September 21, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
