Midwest weather is a cruel joke

This morning around 9 a.m., I head to the corner store to grab a blueberry muffin to join my coffee. I knew it was in the mid-50’s, but to my surprise upon stepping out. Of course, I had to do the usual Lincoln to Pensacola comparison to illustrate this, so check the screen shot below.

925am

Now it is 11:40 a.m.. I’ve had the window open most of the morning where about an hour ago I started to feel a chill come from outside. Currently, it’s about 50 here in Lincoln. About 30 miles up the road in Seward, NE, it’s 40. That’s just insane!!!

So, what I’m going to do is live blog throughout the day. Right before I go to work in about two hours, I’ll make an observation. Same when I go on break and come home from work. The point will be to illustrate how quickly things can change, particularly in the transition periods between Fall & Winter and Winter & Spring. Expect bickering.

12:00 p.m. – First batch of photos:

DSCN1436.JPG

DSCN1435.JPG

1:30 p.m. – There’s a definite chill in in the air now. The wind is also picking up. What once was a windbreaker type of day has become a day for a winter jacket.

130pm

1:55 p.m. – The first hint of sprinkling is coming down as I come into work. The wind is really stiff in open areas. You can see the flags in the picture below to illustrate that. The second shot shows some of the low clouds that are beginning to roll in.

DSCN1437.JPG

DSCN1439.JPG

5 p.m. – The rain that has been falling for about the last two hours has switched over to snow. Being it’s in the mid-30’s, the flakes are extremely big. You can’t really see this in the photo below, but you at least get a sense of how cold it looks.

DSCN1441.JPG

8 p.m. – It’s actually stopped raining for about the past hour. Right now it’s just damp and cool. A look at the radar shows it’ll be moving back in here shortly, but who knows it it’ll be rain or snow as it actually went from rain to snow around 5 p.m. and back to rain around 5:45 p.m.. Of course, I have the comparison screenshot below.

830pm
~ by Steve L. on March 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
