Finally Jailbroken

snap_085633
Uploaded with plasq‘s Skitch!

Last night, I learned that the best iPhone/iPod touch jailbreaking tool, ZiPhone, finally released a version that supported the newer releases of the iPod touch (which I have). So, I restored the 1.1.4 firmware so that my iPod touch was back to factory settings, then ran this software. 45 seconds later, I was jailbroken and off to the races with playing around. The above shot shows off the Summerboard theme I’m using.

For those that are totally confused, “jailbreaking” is how iPhone/iPod touch users can use third-party applications on their device, not to mention change the overall appearance.

~ by Steve L. on March 16, 2008.

One Response to “Finally Jailbroken”

  1. Yikes, Steve! I hear that doing this can render your IPhone useless when new software is made available. Or does the Jailbreaking software render that threat by Apple useless?

Leave a Reply

 
