Testing video

Just testing to see if my YouTube settings carry over. The way I have it set on the YouTube site is for videos to be shown at high quality when available. I’m curious to see if that carries over to imbedded videos.

EDIT: Upon testing this, apparently my YouTube settings do nothing as far as getting the high quality video. Further, apparently there’s supposed to be something I can add to the code to gain the high quality video, but this hasn’t worked for me yet, either. I’ll keep investigating.

~ by Steve L. on July 23, 2008.

2 Responses to “Testing video”

  1. You just keep movin’ around, Steve! I think the video had better resolution on your last blog. Or am I just imagining things?

  2. The previous video service I was using had better resolution, by default. There’s an option if you view the above video on it’s YouTube page to view it in higher resolution. You can also have this set in your YouTube account settings so it goes to higher resolution by default. However, trying to get it to go with the better video on this page apparently takes some hurdles that I haven’t figured out yet.

    The main reason for the switch is accessibility. Myself, being an iPod touch user, noticed that the lack of Flash support prevents me from viewing videos from the other service I was using, as it’s not a format that’s supported by Mobile Safari, the browser on the iPod touch and the iPhone. The reason for this is clearly memory usage; the iPod touch and iPhone are essentially portable computers, so they have to deal with memory like any desktop or laptop the same.

    But, because of the accessibility issue, the switch to YouTube was needed.

    Hope this all makes sense.

Leave a Reply

 
