Mom joins the Mac family

Yup, all the computer is in there!

Yup, all the computer is in there!

LAst Saturday, Mom and I took the old HP computer into BestBuy too see if the Geek Squad there could figure out how to get the thing working. Upon start-up, the computer would give the classic Windows blue screen with error messages nobody really understands. The associate there said that to do a diagnostics check and repair would run $199, not worth it due to the age of the computer.

So, I talked mom into getting a Mac Mini. The MacMini is what you see above, a compact little box that comes with all the guts of a typical tower. That arrived today.

Setup was quick and easy. I simply plugged everything into it’s right slot; it even came with an adapter to support the VGA monitor from the old HP. After the necessary software updates, I got her set up.

I’m really happy to get mom on a Mac because there’s some things I’m really looking forward to playing with:

    iChat

Apple’s own messageing client, it supports the AOL Instant Messenger (AIM) service, Google’s GTalk service, as well as Apple’s MobileME service. I set mom up with an account and instantly went to work.

One thing about iChat that I love, and finally got to play with, is screen sharing. In short, I’m able to take control of mom’s Mac from my Mac, with her permission. This is going to be really useful to show her around and help her out with learning this computer.

Additionally, I’ll be able to do text and voice chats, obviously, as well as share photos and videos in full screen for her enjoyment. So, say I go to Lake Tahoe once I’m out in the Reno area, I can show her my excursions from right within iChat.

    iPhoto and MobileMe Gallery

Another way I’ll be able to share photos is through my MobileMe gallery. If you check out any of the albums at http://gallery.me.com/skoo402/ , you’ll see an option to subscribe at the top. What this does is give you the option to keep up with any photos I add to that album, either through a RSS Reader, or through iPhoto. If you choose the iPhoto option (assuming you’re on a Mac), iPhoto will check for any new photos in any album you’ve subscribed to and instantly download them to your own Mac. From there you can do anything you liek with them, wether it be simply setting one as your background, to ordering prints or making a photo book, something you can also do within iPhoto.

In short, I really look forward to staying connected once I move to Reno next week. I’m speaking from personal experience when I say this, but you will be hard pressed to find a better option for staying in touch with family and friens than with a Mac. It simply caters to this kind of thing.

Any questions, feel free to ask in the comments and I’ll address them either in the comments, or if I feel it needs it, within another post.

~ by Steve L. on August 20, 2008.

2 Responses to “Mom joins the Mac family”

  1. Is there any hope for us hardheads that refuse to leave Windows and HP?

  2. There’s hope, if you can upkeep everything with your system. I’m not really a fan of the way that you have to go about that on the Windows side. Everything feels like a process and sometimes those processes can take hours. Not really the case with Mac OS X. I’m glad to work with a system that makes since and doesn’t need a degree in Geek Speak to understand.

Leave a Reply

 
