First Month in Florida

It’s been almost a month since I returned to Pensacola to live. I have to say that things are going good, for the most part.

I returned here on November 7 after being gone for 14 years. I only had two visits back since my move to Nebraska, and the late one in March of 2007 really stirred the pot for me on returning here. Pretty much since the day I left, I’ve been itching to get back. Nothing against Lincoln, Nebraska, where I was living for the majority of this time, but there was always a bit of culture shock to me in living there and I always felt like there was something missing. Even now that I’m back, I can’t really put my finger on it, but I feel like I’m where I belong.

The ball really got rolling for me when my Nevada experience failed and the reality hit I needed to move before things got really bad. I figured I only had two options, Lincoln or Pensacola, where I have a parent in each location. I simply didn’t feel I could return to Lincoln to live again, so I returned for a month to get my barrings back, and made it back out here a month later. It would of been sooner if it wasn’t for the fact that my Pontiac Sunfire went to crap on me halfway back to Lincoln in Wyoming. Frankly, the entire month of September of this year can go nuke itself for all I care. I guess these kind of things are supposed to make me stronger.

So, how have things been? Like I said, good for the most part. The only issues I’m having are job related, as in I can’t get anyone to bite. But, other than being broke and sometimes bored, I’m doing ok. Honestly, just being back in my old stomping grounds is usually enough to keep my spirits up. I’ve been doing a lot of walking around West Pensacola, just taking in the city around me. While it’s not the best looking city in the world, it’s what’s familiar to me and really what built a large part of my make-up as a kid. I’m sure its much of the same thing that drug my mom back to Nebraska after the long time she was gone.

Anyway, nothing too much to report at this time, or at least that I can think of. I’ll make another post if something else comes to mind.

~ by Steve L. on December 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
